style staple #1-the skinny jean

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My first of fourteen blog entries on style staples features the skinny jean.

Hate to use the word “ultimate”, but a pair of perfect fitting-dark wash-Rag&Bone-skinny jean really is the ultimate closet staple. They are as relaxed as they’re fashionable and as American as apple pie.  When worn with the right accessories, the ultimate skinny jean can transform your look from casual to sexy, Californian to New Yorker, and Off-Duty-Model to on-duty celebrity.

I like my skinny jean extra dark and extra narrow through the leg. I find the more fitting they are, the more versatile: wear with an airy white top, you become effortless chic; pair with patent Louboutins, you ooze polished sex appeal; and dress with colourful flats, you rock the nonchalant street style.

I often build my skinny jean look from bottom up, i.e. start with the thought of what shoes to wear the jean with. In this case, I was dying to wear my poppy red J.Crew loafer flats I scored last weekend on sale, so all I needed next was to pick a top with some complementing colour. My eyes immediately landed on the red plaid button down I got few years ago during the “country look” craze where everyone from Lindsay Lohan to Taylor Swift was spotted wearing tartan. I thought I could tuck them in the skinny jean and top with a statement necklace to achieve a look that’s less farm-girl and more prep.

and ta-da.

Go invest in a pair of perfect skinny jean. live in them. dance in them. or sit around and do nothing in them. whatever it is, I guarantee you’ll be happy in them.

Leave a Reply

